American Online Racing » Forums
jst:session_id does not exist uid:1

HARDCORE VS AIDES

Mon Dec 23, 2019 1:47 pm
Driver
393 Posts
I know some people like to run aides and some like hardcore and won't run aides. I was thinking to balance this out can we in the current series run 1 week with aides and the next week hardcore? And continue this back and forth through the season?

GMoran
Mon Dec 23, 2019 2:38 pm
Driver
442 Posts
I suppose we could.

ProCup was always intended to be our premier series with the best drivers being invited to drive in the series.  To me, allowing aids begins to water down the series.  But, if you think we will get more drivers with this change, I'd be up for seeing how we could implement something.

Let's see what king of chatter we get on the topic.

Jeff
Site Owner/Developer
American Online Racing
Mon Dec 23, 2019 6:04 pm
39 Posts
As you all know, I have been running this sim/game since 1999.  And, with the exception of our Pro Cup series, have always used 1 aid...steering assistance. I know for a fact that there are others that, depending on the track, use some steering assistance from time to time.  I have always been of the mind that if using steering assistance (and if necessary other aids) makes a driver more stable and reduces the number of accidents and cautions they cause then it only makes the racing better for everyone. Making the transition to not using steering assistance in ProCup this past season after using it for 20 years was, for lack of a better word...challenging. I know it caused me to be slower, to cause cautions I probably would not have otherwise caused and be on the edge of out of control more times than I care to mention.  However, I knew that if I wanted to run in the series and ever ween myself off using it I just had to man up and put in extra hours practicing and adjusting my setups and in game controls. Now with that said, I think Gary does have a point. If implementing his suggestion will help us get more dri